Electrical Safety During Concerts and Live Performances

Concerts and live performances present a unique challenge in terms of electrical systems setup and power distribution. Inherent challenge includes a continuous electrical supply to power all the different electrical equipment, lights, musical instruments, sound systems, and when available, live screens on the stage. An interruption in the power supply being coursed through any of these can severely impact the concert or performance itself, and could quite possibly lead to severe dissatisfaction among the audience or spectators, as well as the performers. Needless to say, if fault needs to be found, people will look to the electrician and his crew who worked on the electrical setup. An electrician tasked to working on setting up the power source and electrical systems distribution for a concert or live performance needs to make sure that all possibilities of power interruption or power glitches are minimized as much as possible.

But the responsibility to provide a solid electrical and power installation and electrical distribution during such concerts or live performance also includes the responsibility to make sure that all safety precautions are observed, and that electrical hazards are minimized as much as possible. We asked the professional electricians at www.electricianatlanta.net what safety checks should be mandatory to ensure the safety of the spectators and staff ?

Suitable Power Supply to Power the Equipment to be used during the performance

If all that is needed are lights and a few speakers, there shouldn’t be much of a problem. But as most concerts and live performances usually bring together high powered equipment like speakers, amplifiers, area-wide speakers, microphones and sound systems, powerful lights, audio controllers, and of course, electrical-powered musical instruments. All these different electrical equipment operating at the same time for hours at a time requires sufficient power supply and the proper setup to avoid any overloading any one system. This is the responsibility of the electrician and his crew.

First of all, there should be sufficient power supply for all of these electrical needs, and the electrical setup has to be designed in a way that avoids the overloading of sockets or the uneven distribution of power. To be able to do this, one needs to make careful calculations based on the power ratings in Amps or Watts of each equipment. When you consider the total wattage of all the electrical equipment that will be used for the duration of the concert, it should be easy to determine just how much electricity the entire event is likely to consume (and which you need to supply), and how this should be properly distributed.

Doing this is extremely important to ensure the safety of the people who are present and participating in the event because mistakes can cause electrocution, electrical fires, or even blown fuses and ruined or shorting equipment. Electrical fires are extremely dangerous in such live events where large groups of people are gathered in one place at the same time, so it is extremely imperative that the electrical design, system and set up has been properly planned and properly executed well in advance of the event. This gives the organizers the chance to determine and correct any flaws in the electrical setup, and to fix things well in advance of the event.


Use Only Well-Maintained and Fully Functioning Equipment, including Cables, Wiring, and Connectors

Electric repair experts at www.electriciancolumbusohio.com claim that the easiest way to stay safe during live events or concerts where electrical equipment are scattered throughout the venue, and to prevent any untoward accidents from happening, is to make sure that all the equipment you will be using are well-maintained and fully functioning. Make sure that all the cables, wiring, and connectors are not frayed, damaged or destroyed. Live or exposed wires could potentially be extremely dangerous, even for bystanders. Electrical equipment, on the other hand, should first of all be utilized following the manufacturer’s directions. This means that you need to be familiar with all the equipment, how they work, and what voltage or wattage they run on, way before the event itself. Should there be any problems, you should be able to easily diagnose where the problem is, and have a ready plan of action. Of course, the best thing is that everything should go as planned and you shouldn’t have to suffer any technical problems, but accidents do sometimes happen.

Protect yourself by using a residual current device or RCD, which could be attached to the main board or to the socket itself. If you are using several RCDs to protect several different equipment located in different areas of the venue, make sure that they have been properly tested and fully functioning. Again, have a backup in case things do go wrong.

Conduct Safety Checks

Check everything at least several times before the end and throughout the event, as well. Cables or wiring might easily become damaged in the interim, wires exposed, or taped up connectors could become untapped. Check for any possible signs of damage, and address them accordingly. Make sure all the wires and connectors are firmly attached and are not likely to become loose during the event. Also make sure that none of the extensive wiring or cables necessary to provide electrical equipment for a fairly large venue will be prone to damage by the throng of people who will be coming to the event, even if they dance like crazy or become rowdy.

Columbus Ohio Electrician
1550 Old Henderson Rd, Suite 45
Columbus, OH 43220
(614) 340-2458